Jaana-GoldJanna Gold, DDS, PhD, assistant professor, A.T. Still University’s School of Health Management, had her article, Fluoride varnish with community-based oral health promotion may reduce surface-level caries risk in preschool children, published recently in the Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice.

The purpose of the study was to determine the surface-specific caries-preventive effect of a two-year, community-based oral program with fluoride varnish (FV) applications in the primary teeth of three- to five-year-old children.


Contact Communications & Marketing for more information.

KIRKSVILLE, Mo.- A.T. Still University’s (ATSU) online Master of Public Health program has been named among “The Best Public Health Masters Degree Programs for the 2013-14 Academic Year.” This distinction ranks ATSU’s among the nation’s top 50 health graduate programs by Masters Degree Online. The ranking was based on teacher surveys, student feedback, and experts in the public health field. Masters Degree Online offers advice and information on various masters programs in the country.

ATSU’s School of Health Management offers a master of public health degree that allows students to choose from a general or dental concentration. Both programs are designed for working professionals and can be completed online.

The mission of ATSU’s Master of Public Health program is to prepare public health professionals for leadership in advancing public health; addressing health disparities locally, nationally, and globally; and promoting individual and community health and well-being.


Contact Communications & Marketing for more information.

KIRKSVILLE, Mo.– Don Altman, DDS, DHSc, MPH, MBA, MA, has been appointed to the American Board of Dental Public Health. Dr. Altman serves as associate professor, director, public health and research for A.T. Still University-Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health (ATSU-ASDOH) and chair, Department of Public Health for ATSU-School of Health Management (ATSU-SHM). He received his doctor of health sciences from ATSU-Arizona School of Health Sciences in March 2012.

Dr. Altman will serve a five-year term as a diplomat of the profession. Before board appointment, eligible dentists must have an MPH degree and complete a dental public health residency. They must also take a 2 ½ day comprehensive oral and written exam.

Dr. Altman hopes to bring his administrative expertise to help organize the infrastructure of the board. He has experience working for city and state health departments in Texas and served as dental director for the Arizona Department of Health. He joined the faculty at ATSU-ASDOH in 2006 to develop and initiate its Master’s of Public Health-Dental Emphasis program.

“I am honored to have been appointed to my specialty board and will work hard to make sure those candidates who wish to become Diplomates of the profession are competent in all aspects of dental public health,” said Dr. Altman.

The purpose of the American Board of Dental Public Health is:

  • To protect and improve the public’s health by the study and creation of standards for the practice of dental public health in all of its aspects and relationships
  • To grant and issue dental public health certificates to dentists who have successfully completed the prescribed training and experience requisite the special knowledge and ability needed for the practice of dental public health
  • To ensure continuing competency of diplomats 

Contact Communications & Marketing for more information.

KIRKSVILLE, Mo. – A.T. Still University students have been named as Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges recipients for 2011-12. This prestigious honor recognizes top students from across the nation based on GPA, student leadership and involvement on campus, community involvement, and future leadership ability.

Doctor of osteopathic medicine students from ATSU’s Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine (ATSU-KCOM) receiving the honor include Brett Baldwin, Major Burger, Katie Davenport, Annalyse Feldman, Kevin Furness, Jason Kunz, Tyler McGregor, Courtney Michel, Desirae Nasrallah, Travis Schamber, Jennifer Taylor-Koehneke, Bryan Van Dyke, Rachel Vanderberg, Philip Wanzek, Justin Wilberding, Trevor Wilde, and Andrea Wilson. Ryan White is a Who’s Who recipient from ATSU-KCOM’s Biomedical Sciences Master’s program.

Recipients from ATSU’s School of Health Management (ATSU-SHM) in the Doctor of Health Education program are Tanya Bird, Daniel “Dusty” Boyd, Brandon Ryans, Tamala Sandifer Tineo McDowell, Susanne Small, Sheila Weagle, and Monica Williamson Nenad. ATSU-SHM recipients in the Master of Public Health program include Ryan Chizum and Vanessa Parisi. Students pursuing a Master of Public Health with Dental Emphasis named as Who’s Who are Elisabeth Easley, Shelly Kitain, Anh Nguyen, and Jeremiah Sturgill.

All recipients received a certificate and monetary gift.


Contact Communications & Marketing for more information.

Thomas Curtin, M.D.

KIRKSVILLE, Mo. – A.T. Still University-School of Health Management (SHM) proudly announces that Thomas Curtin, M.D., will deliver the keynote address at SHM graduation at 10 a.m., Saturday, May 28, at the Ophelia Parrish Performance Hall on the campus of Truman State University in Kirksville, Mo.

Dr. Curtin serves as senior vice president and chief medical officer of the National Association of Community Health Centers (NACHC). NACHC works with a network of state health center and primary care organizations to address the widespread lack of access to basic healthcare through Community Health Centers (CHCs) that serve 20 million people at more than 7,000 sites located throughout all 50 states and U.S. territories.

Prior to joining NACHC senior management in 1996, Dr. Curtin was medical director of the East Jordan Family Health Center, a CHC in East Jordan, Mich. He has a B.S. in psychology and an M.D. from Michigan State University.

Dr. Curtin spearheaded efforts to build work force and leadership development programs for America’s Health Centers, was a key component of the CHC accreditation initiative, and played a key role in designing and implementing the Health Disparities Collaboratives, a national health center program that independent studies cite as a successful treatment model in reducing chronic disease in medically underserved communities.

Kimberly O’Reilly, D.H.Ed., M.S.W., dean of SHM, calls Dr. Curtin “one of the most influential and respected healthcare professionals in the country. The fact that CHC’s serve the underserved fits squarely within the mission of SHM and ATSU.”


Contact Communications & Marketing for more information.

Next Page »