KIRKSVILLE, Mo.- A.T. Still University’s (ATSU) Kirksville Osteopathic Alumni Association (KOAA) Board of Directors presented its legendary awards on Oct. 9, 2012, at the annual KOAA Luncheon and Assembly meeting. It was held in conjunction with the American Osteopathic Association Convention in San Diego, Calif.

Larry A. Wickless, DO, MACOI, ’67, of Sarasota, Fla., was selected as Alumnus of the Year for 2012. Dr. Wickless served nine years on the Board of Trustees for ATSU’s Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine (ATSU-KCOM) and is a past recipient of the KOAA Distinguished Service Award.

Toni R. Patterson, DO, FAOCA, ‘79 of Town and Country, Mo., was honored with the Living Tribute Award. Dr. Patterson is an adjunct associate professor for surgery at ATSU-KCOM. She has held many positions with the University, including chair of surgery, associate dean for faculty affairs, and chair of Anesthesiology.

Orin B. Mock, PhD, of Kirksville, Mo., is a recipient of the KOAA Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Mock is emeritus professor of anatomy at ATSU-KCOM and became an honorary member of KOAA in 1997.

Janet Bunch, of Kirksville, Mo., is also the recipient of a Distinguished Service Award. Bunch has served ATSU for over 42 years, with 30 of those years serving as director of alumni relations. Her responsibilities included assisting the KOAA and its Board of Directors. She worked with the board to expand membership, establish the KOAA-KCOM Education Program Fund, and develop and complete the Thompson Campus Center. Bunch now works in Student Affairs as student affairs generalist.

Jeff L. Summe, DO, FAOASM, ’87, of Sun Valley, Idaho, also received a Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Summe is a continuous supporter of the University and has served on the KOAA board for many years. He established two endowments to provide long-term sustainability for ATSU.

Connie Blood, of Alexandria, Va., was awarded an Honorary KOAA Membership. Blood has served the osteopathic profession as a wife, office support staff, and fundraiser for ATSU-KCOM for nearly four decades.

Patricia Deloss McWilliams, of Carefree, Ariz., is another recipient of an Honorary KOAA Membership. McWilliams is a graduate of Northeast Missouri State University (now Truman State University). She donated her painting, “The Healing Touch” to the University, which depicts Dr. A.T. Still’s compassionate provision of healthcare. Copies of the portrait are displayed on the Missouri campus. McWilliams and her husband, Thomas E. McWilliams, DO, ’76, associate dean, graduate medical education, established The Healing Touch Fund to assist ATSU-KCOM and ATSU’s School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona students and their families experiencing a health crisis.

Sheridan C. Patterson, of Stilwell, Okla., was also awarded an Honorary KOAA Membership. Patterson has demonstrated her support and commitment to ATSU-KCOM through generous financial support and continued interest in progress made by the University. She is a past recipient of the KOAA Distinguished Service Award and a member of the Legacy Society, Still Society, and A.T. Still Founder Lifetime Giving Club.

Nandor J. Uray, PhD, of Kirksville, Mo., was also honored with an Honorary KOAA Membership. Dr. Uray recently retired as a professor of anatomy at ATSU-KCOM. During his 31 years of teaching, he also pursued studies that focused on the effect of hormones and alcohol on brain development. Dr. Uray served as the acting chair for anatomy and awarded the 2009-2010 A.T. Still Staff Award.