KIRKSVILLE, Mo. – A.T. Still University-Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine (ATSU-KCOM) student and faculty awards were presented April 11, 2012, by Isela Padilla, OMS II, Student Government Association committee chair.

Swati Buch, OMS II, was presented with the Snyder-Crummy Scholastic Award in Anatomy for her outstanding achievements in gross anatomy, embryology, pathology, and neuro-anatomy.

Heather Martin, OMS III, was recognized as Student Doctor of the Year. This award is given to student doctors who exemplify professionalism, leadership, commitment to community service, and dedication to the profession, as well as embodiment of the osteopathic philosophy.  Martin is currently on clinical rotations at Northeast Regional Medical Center. She has been involved with the Special Olympics Polar Bear Plunge, High Hope, and Operation Osteopathic Service. Martin was also presented a national award from the American Osteopathic Association.

Christopher Miller, OMS II, was presented with the Student Government Association Missouri Campus Leadership Award. This award given is to a student who exhibits exceptional leadership qualities through the Student Government Association. Miller served as chair of Disaster Awareness Response Training, which led to the certification of 155 people in Basic Disaster Life Support and 140 people in Advanced Disaster Life Support.

Peter Kondrashov, PhD, anatomy chair, associate professor, was one of two professors presented with the Max T. Gutensohn Teaching Award. This award is given annually to both a first- and second-year professor who students feel made their ATSU-KCOM experience unforgettable. Dr. Kondrashov is described by students as “a passionate person, especially about his teaching; he has a contagious enthusiasm that keeps students interested in the material.” Dr. Kondrashov is a past recipient of this award.

Neal Chamberlain, PhD, professor, microbiology/immunology, was honored as a recipient of the Max T. Gutensohn Teaching Award. He is described by students as “a very enthusiastic and dedicated teacher who is very passionate about helping students become the best doctors they can be.” Dr. Chamberlain has also received this award in the past.